WWII/Atomic Bomb Mock Trial: Primary Sources

Describes the Manhattan Project, a government-run program to invent an atomic bomb, and how its development and use greatly affected the course of World War II. Read ebook online with Destiny Discover.

Examines the history of the atomic bomb, discussing the discovery of the behavior of uranium when placed next to radioactive material, the race to build a bomb, and the impact of the weapon on societies around the world. A 2013 Newbery Honor book. Contains secondary and primary sources. Read online with Destiny Discover.

Describes occupation of major parts of Europe, North Africa, and eastern Asia by Germany, Italy, and Japan and those occupied countries' attempts to resist foreign rule. Contains primary and secondary sources. Brief preview available online with Google Books.

Provides an overview of what life was like in the United States during World War II using primary sources and explanatory information.

Examines the history of Japanese in the United States, focusing on their treatment during World War II, including the mass relocation to internment camps and the distinguished service of Japanese Americans in the American military. Brief preview available online with Google Books.

Includes personal accounts to describe the period in American history when Japanese Americans were detained in internment camps; also, discusses the issues and controversy surrounding the decision.

Read about what led up to this event, what the crisis was like and its aftermath, using photographs and primary sources. Brief preview available online with Google Books.

Different perspectives on the World War II "internment" of Japanese American citizens and residents are presented, some primary sources, some secondary.

Explores the history of World War II, including the important players, battles, and consequences. A brief excerpt is available online with Google Books.

A harrowing and enlightening look at the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II-- from National Book Award finalist Albert Marrin   Just seventy-five years ago, the American government did something that most would consider unthinkable today: it rounded up over 100,000 of its own citizens based on nothing more than their ancestry and, suspicious of their loyalty, kept them in concentration camps for the better part of four years.

Allows readers to understand World War II, not as seen through the eyes of soldiers, but through the eyes of children who survived the bombings, the blackouts, the hunger, the fear, and the loss of loved ones caused by the war.

Presents the history of the United States participation in World War II, including the role of women and African Americans and the internment of Japanese Americans.

Describes civilian life for people on the home front, in all the warring countries, during World War II, including stories of relocation, rations, and new jobs to support war efforts.

Describes life for people in countries under occupation by German and Japanese soldiers during World War II. Includes primary source documents and eyewitness accounts to what life was like.

Children in Poland, France, Holland, and Britain shared the same fears and deprivation as their parents once war broke out. When US joined the war in 1939, children there too felt they had to 'do their bit' in whatever way they could. Find out what it was like to be a child during wartime in this title. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

What role did women play during wartime? This title looks at the various contributions and jobs women did during wartime, and examines what impact these efforts had on the war as a whole.

Traces events leading up to and resulting from the December 7, 1941, Japanese attack on American battleships at Pearl Harbor, which brought the United States into World War II.

This book primary source materials to study what led to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the repercussions of this event. Contents include: Geography of the Pacific; Japan: 1853-1930; Why fascism?; Expansionist Japan: 1930-1941; Japanese military strategy; U.S. military leaders; Japanese military leaders; The countdown to war begins: November 25, 1941; Japanese movements: December 1-2; Final preparations: December 3-6; Attack! December 7, 1941; With the Japanese forces; Battleships under attack; Onboard the USS Arizona; Two hours of destruction; Medical personnel; Aftermath; The United States reacts; Fighting back; Japanese-Americans after Pearl Harbor; What happened to the leaders?; What have we learned from Pearl Harbor?

What was it like to take part in the D-Day landings? What was it like to be a war reporter traveling with the largest invasion force in history? What was it like to be a witness to history? Step back in time to World War II and the D-Day landings and see history through the eyes of those who lived it. Discover what it was like to be a soldier landing on one of the D-Day beaches. Find out about the fighting and battles that took place during the Battle of Normandy. Read how the French Resistance helped the Allies defeat the Germans in occupied France. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

An unforgettable autobiographical tale of survival during World War II. DeMaillie, pilot of a B-17, describes in riveting detail his successful bombing run from England to the industrial center of Germany. But things go very wrong on the return flight when his plane is struck by enemy fire and the crew is forced to parachute into Holland. Although a group of heroic Dutch resistance fighters try to hide him, the Nazis eventually capture DeMaillie and send him to a prisoner of war camp. There, he endures hunger, cold, and brutality until the Allies finally free him. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

A title which honors the sixtieth anniversary of D-Day discusses the events and personalities involved in the momentous Allied invasion of France on June 6, 1944. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

Hiroshima is the story of six human beings who lived through the greatest single manmade disaster in history. John Hersey tells what these six -- a clerk, a widowed seamstress, a physician, a Methodist minister, a young surgeon, and a German Catholic priest -- were doing at 8:15 a.m. on August 6, 1945, when Hiroshima was destroyed by the first atomic bomb ever dropped on a city. Then he follows the course of their lives hour by hour, day by day.

The WWII invasion known as D-Day was the largest military endeavor in history. By June 6, 1944, Hitler and his allies had a strong grip on the European continent, where Nazi Germany was engaged in the mass extermination of the Jewish people. The goal of D-Day was the total defeat of Hitler's regime, and the defense of free democracies everywhere. Knowing they had to breach the French coast, the US, Great Britain, and Canada planned for the impossible. D-Day was an invasion not for conquest, but liberation, and required years to plan and total secrecy to keep the advantage of surprise.

Relates the experiences of World War II Army nurses, who brought medical skills, courage, and cheer to hospitals throughout Europe, North Africa, and the Pacific. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

Oe's account of the lives of the many victims of Hiroshima and the valiant efforts of those who cared for them, both immediately after the atomic blast and in the years that follow, reveals the horrific extent of the devastation. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

Discusses strategic battles in the Pacific during World War II, including Bataan and Corregidor, Guadalcanal, Tarawa, Leyte Gulf, Iwo Jima, and Okinawa.

Discusses the people and events involved in Japan's decision to attack Pearl Harbor, which forced the United States to enter World War II.

This book tells about the 1941 attack on the American naval base at Pearl Harbor, including the events leading up to the attack and the Pacific War that followed. Contains mostly secondary sources with some brief primary sources (quotes, pictures). Available through BOTH Sora and Destiny Discover.

This book tells about the world's first nuclear attack on the Japanese port city of Hiroshima, including the events leading up to the attack and the Japanese surrender and nuclear arms race that followed. Read eBook online with Destiny Discover.

Uses contemporary posters, images, and eyewitness accounts to examine how people experienced World War II away from the battlefield. It examines not only life on the home front but also what it was like to do military service or to live under enemy occupation, as well as the influence of propaganda and espionage on the course of the conflict. This book looks at how governments tried to influence how people thought about the war.

The Pacific follows the war against Japan from the raid on Pearl Harbor in December 1941 to the dropping of the atomic bombs on Japan in August 1945. It shows how Japan made remarkable initial gains in Asia and the Pacific, and how the United States and its allies plotted a thrust across the vast Pacific Ocean, based on aircraft carriers, air power, and amphibious landings on scattered islands. Eventually, the campaign brought Allied bombers within striking distance of Japan itself.

Describes the life of a soldier in World War II, from recruitment efforts around the world, to the daily life during the fighting. Includes letters and eyewitness accounts from soldiers on all sides of the conflict.

Describes the role spies and police played around the world during World War II, from controlling riots to gathering intelligence from the enemy.

Wars obviously have an enormous impact on those who fight them. What about war's effect on the people back home? How does war change and define their lives, and how does this affected populace, in turn, shape American society? Through the copious use of primary sources, Letters from the Homefront offers first-hand, sometimes poignant insight into the impact of war on America's civilian population.

Describes how World War II was fought in the Pacific between the United States and Japan. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

Describes major military events of World War II, including the destruction of Poland, the battle of Britain, and the bombing of Pearl Harbor. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

What was it like to be a fighter pilot during wartime? This title examines what these pilots went through in the air and on the ground. Their training, types of aircraft, and the role they played in the battles are all examined in great detail. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

Combat Soldiers played a major role in wartime. Basic training took around six weeks. It was hard work. All soldiers looked forward to free time, when they could relax, play cards, listen to records or read letters from home. Even better was time off, called leave or furlough. Find out more about the life of a combat soldier in this fact-filled title. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

A thought-provoking anthology of different viewpoints on various aspects of World War II, representative of that time, including whether the United States should enter the war, the use of the atomic bomb, women's roles, & the internment of Japanese Americans but not German Americans or Italian Americans. Contains both primary and secondary sources.

Presents seventeen essays written by historians and scholars who comment on controversial issues such as who was to blame for the Pearl Harbor attack, pros and cons on Japanese internment, the necessity of the atomic bomb, and possible American intervention regarding the Holocaust. Contains both primary and secondary sources.

Describes what it was like to be an American prisoner of war held by the Germans or Japanese during World War II, discussing the physical conditions, emotional turmoil, and difficult transition to freedom after harsh imprisonment.

This striking work of narrative nonfiction tells the true story of six-year-old Sachiko Yasui's survival of the Nagasaki atomic bomb on August 9, 1945 and the heartbreaking and lifelong aftermath. Having conducted extensive interviews with Sachiko Yasui, Caren Stelson shares the true story of a young girl who survived the atomic bomb and chronicles her long journey to find peace. Offers readers a remarkable new perspective on the final moments of World War II and their aftermath. Read eBook online with Destiny Discover.

More than thirty of the most important documents, papers, speeches, and communications during the Cold War by the major figures of the era. *Use Gale password to read this eBook*

Presents fifteen excerpts from primary sources related to World War II, including speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts, novels, poems, and memoirs. *Entire book available online as an eBook. Use Gale password.*

"World War II presents a unique blend of perspectives about what it felt like to be an American during the Second World War and the years that immediately preceded and followed it. This work examines how Americans faced the events and circumstances that shaped their lives during this difficult period. Brief excerpt available online with Google Books.

This title explores the dropping of a deadly atomic bomb on the Japanese city of Hiroshima. Genocide, intentional nuclear destruction, world war -- what inspired such events and what was left in their wake?

Through narrative nonfiction text, readers learn about the dropping of atomic bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki through the perspectives of American and Japanese leaders, scientists, U.S. Army officials, and Japanese citizens.

Despite familiar images of the dropping of the atomic bomb on Japan and the controversy over its fiftieth anniversary, the human impact of those horrific events often seems lost to view. In this uncommon memoir, Dr. James N. Yamazaki tells us in personal and moving terms of the human toll of nuclear warfare and the specific vulnerability of children to the effects of these weapons.

Hoping to finally end World War II, the United States dropped an atomic bomb on Hiroshima, Japan, on August 6, 1945. Three days later, the U.S. dropped another massive bomb on Nagasaki, Japan. The result was total devastation. Within seconds of the blasts, more than 120,000 men, women and children died. Thousands more would die from radiation sickness in the months to come. The war was over but the ongoing fear of nuclear destruction had begun.