Extra Help from Mrs Barthelmes
Passwords to Library Databases / eBooks
If something here asks you for a library password, look it up on this Google Spreadsheet!
NoodleTools
- NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Keep track of your research resources, take digital notecards, and make perfect MLA citations for your Works Cited with NoodleTools. Now with Google Sign-in!
Thesis Questions...
Was the United States' decision to drop the atomic bomb justified?
- If not, then dropping the atomic bomb was not justified. (Prosecution- Japan)
- If so, then dropping the atomic bomb was a justified act of war. (Defense - USA)
Research Guide
Welcome! Here you will find a guide to doing research, gathering and using evidence, and creating arguments for the mock trial.
The quality of your research will make up a large part of your grade. Remember to do your own work, create clear and thorough notes relevant to your topic, paraphrase (don't plagiarize!), and cite your information sources.
Encyclopedia Articles
Note: You will need the Encyclopedia Britannica password to access from home.
- World War II article, Encyclopedia BritannicaTo view statistics about casualties and losses of the war, Click "Expand All" to view the Contents on the upper left side of screen, click on "Costs of the War" at bottom, then click on the "Table" link in the 4th paragraph.
- "The decision to use the atomic bomb " Encyclopedia BritannicaClick on link in second paragraph "See Sidebar: The decision to use the atomic bomb."
- "The effects of nuclear weapons" Encyclopedia BritannicaLearn more about radiation, etc. Or use the contents to read other parts of this article, "Nuclear Weapon."
Database Articles/Suggested Key Words for Searching
Note: You will need the database password for Research in Context (a Gale database) to access from home.
When you're searching databases, it's important to choose effective search words. Here are some that might help. Click on the links to read articles in the Gale Research in Context Database (you will need the Gale password to access these links from outside of school). NOTE: If a link is not working, copy the key word you want to search, then paste it into the search box in the Gale Research in Context Database. Too many articles? Try narrowing the results by adding more words to the "Search within Results" box.
Battle of Guadalcanal, 1942-1943
Hague Conventions of 1899 and 1907 with Respect to the Laws and Customs of War
Hiroshima, Japan (Environmental Encyclopedia)
International Committee of the Red Cross
Japanese American Internment, 1942-1945
Radiation Injuries (or Radiation Sickness)
Library Resources to Search
- In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Huge collection of periodicals and reference books (over 1,400 titles in current and backlist, full-text). Includes videos, audio stories such as NPR segments, and images. Covers all subject areas, many written on a middle school reading levels and above; articles are all coded with reading level. MLA Citation is included at the bottom of all articles.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Biography In Context is built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography In Context includes over 4,500 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. It offers authoritative reference content alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the very latest information.
- EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window A large periodicals database containing thousands of magazine and newspaper articles covering all subject areas. Intended for secondary school students.
- FactCite This link opens in a new window With a simple search screen and easy-to-read layout, you will find articles on biography, American history, countries & cultures, mythology, and science written at a middle school reading level, with read-aloud and built-in MLA citations. Non-distracting and lots of white space support emerging and struggling readers.
- Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Encyclopædia Britannica Online is world-renowned for its in-depth, scholarly information. Search encyclopedia articles across three reading levels or to select which level you want to search: elementary, middle, or high school. The detailed, scholarly articles are found in the high school version.
- World Book Encyclopedia--HCC This link opens in a new window World Book Student is written in plain English, which is easy to understand, and provides concise background information. It's an excellent starting point for research. As you read, be aware of "Related Articles" links found in the article or on the "Related Information" tab, where you may also find music, media, etc.
- GVRL (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window Biographical, historical, and primary source resources. Improve your understanding of time periods by selecting 'Explore an Era.' Used mainly in 7th & 8th grade Social Studies.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Helps students research, analyze, and organize a wide variety of resources and data on diverse topics in all curricular areas. Excellent for writing assignments, presentations, debate preparation. Includes topic overviews, essays, primary sources, biographies, statistics, news articles, and NPR podcasts.
- Destiny Discover -- HCC This link opens in a new window Search our collection of print books, eBooks, audiobooks, and other library materials with Destiny Discover. Log in with your school (network) username and password to place a hold on a print book, or to read eBooks and digital audiobooks.
- Sora This link opens in a new window Sora is an app and website for reading and borrowing digital books and audiobooks purchased for you for our school. The app is free and the books are yours to use for 3 weeks at a time, at no cost to you. Students (and teachers) can borrow 4 books at a time and can place up to 3 holds. (Please note: we still have many ebooks and audiobooks in Destiny Discover that we will continue to use, but Sora has many features we think you will like, so we are building that collection.) If you don't see the books you want to read here, please email your request to Mrs. Barthelmes.
