Pictures, Videos, and Music in Google Drive
Link to "1920s Silent Film Multimedia for Movies" folder in Google Drive.
Link to "1920s Music" folder in Google Drive.
Start Your Research Here
- World Book Encyclopedia--HCC This link opens in a new window
World Book Student is written in plain English, which is easy to understand, and provides concise background information. It's an excellent starting point for research. As you read, be aware of "Related Articles" links found in the article or on the "Related Information" tab, where you may also find music, media, etc.
- 1920s Topics from World BookThis Google Doc contains direct links to articles in World Book for each of the topics studied. These provide a good starting point before moving on to other resources.
- FactCite This link opens in a new window
With a simple search screen and easy-to-read layout, you will find articles on biography, American history, countries & cultures, mythology, and science written at a middle school reading level, with read-aloud and built-in MLA citations. Non-distracting and lots of white space support emerging and struggling readers.
Topics
1. Increasing Consumerism / Crash of 1929
2. Harlem Renaissance / Jazz Age
3. Prohibition / Gangsters / 18th & 21st Amendments
4. Popularity of Radio and Movies / Mass Media / Silent Films
5. Sports Mania / Charles Lindbergh/ Other firsts
6. Foreign Policy and Scandals / Teapot Dome
7. Automobile Age / Improved Transportation
8. Changing Role of Women / 19th Amendment/ Changing Fads and Fashions
9. Racial Unrest, Great Migration
10. Red Scare/Sacco and Vanzetti
11. Religion and the Scopes Trial
12. Literature of the 1920s
13. The Age of Airplanes
14. Flu Epidemic of 1918 (*new topic)
Teacher-Provided Sources
- "Influenza Pandemic." UXL Doomed: The Science Behind Disasters, edited by K. Lee Lerner, et al., vol. 2, UXL, 2015, pp. 431-439. Gale In Context: Middle School.Database article about the Influenza epidemic of 1918. Use Gale password to access from home.
- "Spanish Flu Pandemic of 1918." Gale In Context Online Collection, Gale, 2020. Gale In Context: Middle School.Another source on the Spanish flu. Use the Gale password.
Downloadable Music
Here are some sites where you can download music.
Soundzabound.com requires the username and password on the HCC Library passwords list, above.
Freegal is a public library resource; you need to enter your public library barcode in order to download.
Web Sites
Library Media Specialist
Books on the 1920s from HCC Library
The roaring twenties almanac and primary sources by Call Number: 000 973.91 HowISBN: 1414402120THIS BOOK AVAILABLE IN PRINT OR ONLINE, AS AN EBOOK! Presents a collection of entries that provide information on the 1920s in the U.S., including the political, economic, technological, and social events during the decade, and provides full and excerpted documents that offer a range of perspectives the period. CLICK ON COVER TO READ ONLINE AS AN E-BOOK! (Use Gale Password.)
UXL American decades, vol. 3Call Number: 000 973.91 UXLISBN: 0787664545Major events and people in 1920s American society, covering arts and entertainment, business and economy, education, lifestyles and social trends, medicine, science and technology, sports, and government, politics, and law. CLICK ON BOOK COVER TO READ ONLINE AS AN E-BOOK! (Use Gale password.)
The Twenties in America by Call Number: 000 973.91 ROLISBN: 1587658550Publication Date: 2012-04-01READ ONLINE BY CLICKING ON COVER. (Use "Twenties in America" password to access from home.)
Bowling, beatniks, and bell-bottoms : pop culture of 20th-century America, vol. 2 by Call Number: 000 306 BOWISBN: 0787656755Volume 2 describes examples of the commerce, fashion, film and theater, food and drink, music, print works, sports and games, and other markers of popular culture in America during the 1920s. CLICK ON THE BOOK COVER FOR THE COMPLETE FULL TEXT ON-LINE IN THE E-BOOK!!! TRY USING THE E-TABLE OF CONTENTS AND EXPANDING THE MENU TO SEE DETAILED TOPICS. (Use Gale password.)
Life : Our Century in Pictures for Young People by Call Number: 000 909.82ISBN: 0316815772Publication Date: 2000Illustrated description of major events and important people of the twentieth century. Divided into nine chronological, heavily illustrated chapters with contributions from many children's writers including Lois Lowry & Robert Cormier.
Take Ten Years: 1920s by Call Number: 000 909.82 SHAISBN: 0811430758Publication Date: 1993Explores the decade of the 1920s worldwide, a time which included the formation of the League of Nations, Prohibition, the discovery of the tomb of Tutankhamun, Lindbergh's transatlantic flight, and the stock market crash.
Picture History of the 20th Century: the 1920s by Call Number: 000 909.82 TamISBN: 1932889701Publication Date: 2006Presents an illustrated photographic history of the 1920s including the aftermath of World War One, prohibition, the beginning of Fascism, women's rights, the movies, and much more.
Portrait of a Decade by Call Number: 000 909.82 WILISBN: 071345816XPublication Date: 1989This portrait of the 1920s is a chronology of the decade including world headlines, news, sport and the arts, and science and technology. Includes a time chart and biographical notes on important people of the decade.
Our Century: 1920-1930 by Call Number: 000 909.821 OURISBN: 0836810341Publication Date: 1993Our Century is a dramatic, newspaper-style presentation of each decade. These volumes highlight historic events and outstanding individual achievements in the sporting world, international affairs, scientific discoveries, daily life, and the arts. From the boom period of the early '20s to the stock market crash of 1929, the social impact of World War I, Charles Lindbergh's trans-Atlantic flight, Babe Ruth, George Gershwin, and the treasures of Tutankhamen -- the '20s roared!
America in the 20th Century: 1920-1929Call Number: 000 973.9 AME V.4ISBN: 0761473645Publication Date: 2003Examines twentieth-century American politics, economics, society, and culture decade by decade, including the experiences of women, indigenous peoples, minorities, and persons with disabilities, and features more than two hundred biographies, over one hundred primary sources, and approximately one thousand photos and illustrations.
Popular Culture: 1920-1939 by Call Number: 000 973.91 BINISBN: 1410946223Publication Date: 2012Who were the flappers? What were "talkies?" What was the Harlem Renaissance? Covers the effect of prohibition and the newfound freedom of women on the popular culture of the era. The effects of the Great Depression, as well as the rise of communism and fascism is also discussed in terms of their impact on popular culture.
Progressivism, the Great Depression, and the New Deal, 1901-1941 by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 000 973.91 COLISBN: 0761410546Provides a good, concise overview of the decade and many of the topics studied in this unit.
Emphasizes economic trends and the role of the government in regard to the economy from the beginning of the twentieth century to America's entry into World War II.
History of The 1920s by Call Number: 000 973.91 CRAISBN: 1930954093Publication Date: 2002Examines significant people and events in the history of the United States during the 1920s, covering disasters, entertainment, trends, politics, the arts, science and technology, sports, society, economy, fashion, and activities.
The 1920s by
Suffragettes won women the right to vote in the United States. Babe Ruth was the biggest name in sports. The Lost Generation created music and literature that would speak to everyone. Prohibition created gangsters and mob bosses. And silent films gave way to talking ones. The 1920s was a decade full of idealization, prosperity, and creativity, leading a generation of Americans out of war and into a golden age.
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 000 973.91 FEIISBN: 9780766069244Publication Date: 2015
A Cultural History of the United States: The 1920s by Call Number: 000 973.91 HISBN: 1560065524Publication Date: 1999Discusses the political, economic, and cultural life of the United States in the 1920s, including prohibition, the higher standard of living, the Teapot Dome scandal, barnstorming, and flappers.
The jazz age : the 20s by Call Number: 000 973.91 JISBN: 0783555091Publication Date: 1998Photographs and text help chronicle the major events that took place in the United States during the 1920s.
USA Twenties, vols. 1-6 by Call Number: 000 973.91 NINISBN: 9780717260133Contains nearly three hundred alphabetically arranged articles that provide information about political events, scientific advances, cultural and social trends, and notable people in the United States during the 1920s.
The Roaring Twenties by Call Number: 000 973.91 PIEISBN: 1560063092Publication Date: 1997Presents a social history of the United States during the 1920s, a decade of prosperity, Prohibition, Presidential scandals, fads and sensations, controversies, sports heroes, and the stock market crash.
Life During the Roaring Twenties (The Way People Live series) by Call Number: 000 973.91 YANISBN: 1590181581Publication Date: 2002The Twenties were more than a decade of gangsters, flappers, and speakeasies. Ordinary Americans worked hard and enjoyed "modern" conveniences like refrigerators and Hoover vacuums. They also faced rising divorce rates, teen-age rebellion, and an alarming wave of intolerance as epitomized by the popularity of the Ku Klux Klan. **Contains chapters on Consumerism and Scopes trial**
The Roaring Twenties by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 000 973.921 MARISBN: 1601522487Publication Date: 2013For many Americans, the era known as the Roaring Twenties was a 10-year-long party, as Americans discovered jazz, flappers, flagpole sitting and talking movies. But it was also an era of lawlessness as crime bosses fulfilled the country's thirst for alcoholic beverages that had been made illegal by the Eighteenth Amendment to the US Constitution. Read the whole eBook online with Destiny Discover.
Art Deco by Call Number: 008 709.04 YANISBN: 1420503405Publication Date: 2011The Art Deco movement brought about a feeling of glamorousness to the ordinary. One of the most iconic representations of the movement is New York City's Chrysler Building. Originating in France in the early 1900s, America soon embraced Art Deco's color, zigzags, sunbursts, and eye-catching designs. It combined modernist styles with fine craftsmanship and rich materials. It represented luxury, exuberance, and faith in technological and social progress.
Eyewitness to the 20th CenturyCall Number: 000 999ISBN: 0792270495
Why Did the Great Depression Happen? by Call Number: 001 330.973 GRAISBN: 1433941694Publication Date: 2010-08-01Covers the causes that led up to the Great Depression, including the United States and many other countries, revealing how the entire world was affected.
The Great Depression by Call Number: 001 330.973 NarISBN: 9781420500332Publication Date: 2008The Great depression leaves little to the imagination by its name; it truly was one of the darkest times for America. Life was so bleak, it broke American families apart. Nearly 1.5 million men abandoned their families, leaving wives and children with no income or support.
Six days in October : the stock market crash of 1929 by Call Number: 001 332.64 BLUISBN: 0689842767Publication Date: 2002A comprehensive review of the events, personalities, and mistakes behind the Stock Market Crash of 1929, featuring photographs, newspaper articles, and cartoons of the day.
Hardship and Hope : America and the Great Depression by Call Number: 001 338.2 SHEISBN: 0805041788Publication Date: 1997Sherrow focuses on the tragedy of the Great Depression, reflecting both the personal side and the political response.
How a depression works by Call Number: 001 338.5 PorISBN: 9781435853225Publication Date: 2010Examines the mechanisms of a depression, its causes and effects, and how it develops into a worldwide situation are clearly laid out and informatively explored.
Entertainment by Call Number: 001 609 DowISBN: 1588102114Publication Date: 2001Traces the development of various forms of entertainment from different historical eras.- Inventions That Changed Modern Life by Call Number: 001 609 MARISBN: 0811449300Publication Date: 1993Describes twenty inventions that changed modern life, including the steam engine, photography, and television.
Inventing Modern America by Call Number: 001 609.73 BROISBN: 0262025086Publication Date: 2001Tells the personal stories of thirty-five American scientists, technologists, and researchers whose inventions have had a significant impact on life in the twentieth century in the areas of medicine and healthcare, consumer products, transportation, energy and the environment, and computing and telecommunications.
How the Refrigerator Changed History by Call Number: 001 621.5 BJOISBN: 9781624037863Publication Date: 2015How the Refrigerator Changed History examines the invention and evolution of the refrigerator and explores how refrigeration has changed the way people eat and live.- Machines in the Home by Call Number: 001 683 WEAISBN: 0195209656Publication Date: 1993Discusses the development of domestic technology--heating and lighting, cooking, laundry, the modern bathroom, carpet sweeping, and assorted gadgetry.
The Great Depression by Call Number: 001 973.9 SchISBN: 0836859782Publication Date: 2006Uses primary sources and captivating images to make pivotal events in world history accessible to today's students. Time lines on each spread help students follow events as they happened, and a wealth of archival images bring each period to life. Biographies of key figures round out each volume.
The Great Depression: How Did It Happen? by Call Number: 001 973.91 GraISBN: 1590186060Publication Date: 2005Topics as the stock market crash of 1929, the worldwide effects of the crash, and the Depression's connections to World War II. Loaded with primary source materials, full-color images, expert opinions, and narrative explanations of the causes and effects of this key economic event.
Harlem Renaissance by Call Number: 002 700 HOWISBN: 0787648361Presents overviews of several aspects of the Harlem Renaissance including its beginnings, fiction, poetry, performing and visual arts, nightlife, and its end, reprinting many primary works of Harlem Renaissance artists and thinkers; profiles fifteen figures from the movement. CLICK ON BOOK COVER TO VIEW ONLINE AS AN E-BOOK! (Use Gale password.)
The Harlem Renaissance by Call Number: 002 700.89 HERISBN: 1617831018Publication Date: 2011This title examines an important historic event - the Harlem Renaissance in New York City. Easy-to-read, compelling text explores the history of the Harlem neighborhood and issues around racism, Harlem's African-American community, cultural identity, and creative spirit - from jazz to dance to poetry and more. (Series: Essential events)
The Harlem Renaissance: an explosion of African-American culture by Call Number: 002 700.89 WorISBN: 0766029077Publication Date: 2008African-American literature, art, and music exploded with creativity in the Harlem section of New York during the 1920s. Artists and thinkers like poet Langston Hughes, activist and writer W.E.B. Du Bois, and painter Aaron Douglas began to explore their African roots. The Harlem Renaissance was also a time when blacks tried to change their situation, seeking greater equality and the same civil rights that whites enjoyed. In this book, learn how African Americans explored their rich cultural history and their identity in the ever-changing United States.
The Dream Keeper and Other Poems by Call Number: 002 811 HUGISBN: 067984421XPublication Date: 2007- Langston Hughes byCall Number: 002 811.52 HUGISBN: 0886826160Publication Date: 1993A biography of the poet who spent his career writing about the experiences of African-Americans, interspersed with examples of his work.
The Harlem Renaissance in American History by Call Number: 002 974.7 GaiISBN: 0766014584Publication Date: 2002Examines the Harlem Renaissance, discussing how the cultural movement produced some of the greatest musicians of the twentieth century.
The Harlem Jazz Era (A Travel Guide to... series) by Call Number: 002 974.7 KalISBN: 1590183584Publication Date: 2004A visitor's guide to the restaurants, theater, arts, dancing, and jazz music of Harlem, New York, toward the end of the period known as the Harlem Renaissance, when African American arts flourished.
The Harlem Renaissance by Call Number: 002 974.7 KooISBN: 1590187024Presents a short study of the Renaissance Era in Harlem during the early twentieth century when African-American literature, art, and music crossed racial barriers and were accepted by white Americans.
Duke Ellington by Call Number: 002 B ELLISBN: 1556527241Publication Date: 2009Duke Ellington was one of the most influential figures in American music: an accomplished and influential jazz pianist, composer, band leader, and cultural diplomat. It explores Ellington's life and career along with many topics related to African American history, including the Harlem Renaissance.
Langston Hughes by Call Number: 02 B HUGISBN: 0756509939Publication Date: 2005-07-01A biography profiling the life of Langston Hughes, an African American writer known for his poetry and other writing describing the black experience in the United States. Includes source notes and timeline.
Zora! by Call Number: 002 B HURISBN: 0547006950Publication Date: 2012Zora Neale Hurston was confident, charismatic, and determined to be extraordinary. As a young woman, Hurston lived and wrote alongside such prominent authors as Langston Hughes and Alain Locke during the Harlem Renaissance. But unfortunately, despite writing the luminary work Their Eyes Were Watching God, she was always short of money. Though she took odd jobs as a housemaid and as the personal assistant to an actress, Zora often found herself in abject poverty. Through it all, Zora kept writing. And though none of her books sold more than a thousand copies while she was alive, she was rediscovered a decade later by a new generation of readers, who knew they had found an important voice of American Literature.
Bootleg : Murder, Moonshine, and the lawless years of Prohibition by Call Number: 003 363.4 BLUISBN: 9781596434493Publication Date: 2013Worried about the effects of alcohol on American families, mothers and civic leaders started a movement to outlaw drinking in public places. When a Constitutional Amendment banning the sale and consumption of alcohol was ratified, it was hailed as the end of public drunkenness, alcoholism, and a host of other social ills related to booze. Instead, it began a decade of lawlessness.
Prohibition by Call Number: 003 363.4 DUNISBN: 1420501348Publication Date: 2010Describes the rise and fall of Prohibition in the United States. Author John M. Dunn includes a history of alcohol use in the U.S. before the nineteenth century movement. This book provides detail on the many social, economic, and political factors leading to its gain in popularity, leading to passage of the 18th Amendment and the changes the lead to its repeal in 1933.
A look at the Eighteenth and Twenty-first Amendments : the prohibition and sale of intoxicating liquors by Call Number: 003 363.4 GraISBN: 9781598450637Accenting the efforts of the Prohibition groups such as the Women's Christian Temperance Union and the Anti-Saloon League, the book reviews the events and sentiments of the times that led to the short-lived existence of the Eighteenth Amendment.
The Prohibition Era : temperance in the United States by Call Number: 003 363.4 SLAISBN: 1604130059Publication Date: 2009This book describes the Prohibition Era (1920-1933), a period when the Eighteenth Amendment to the Constitution forbade Americans from manufacturing, selling, or transporting alcoholic beverages. (Series: Milestones in American history)
Tommy : The Gun that Changed America by Call Number: 003 683.4 BLUISBN: 9781250115409Publication Date: 2017Traces the history of the controversial Thompson submachine gun, which was intended to give Americans an edge on the battlefield, but instead gained infamy during the Prohibition era as the preferred weapon of gangsters and bootleggers.
Gangs and Gangsters by Call Number: 003 920 FORISBN: 9781429634212Publication Date: 2010They say crime doesn't pay. But the bad guys in this book must have missed the memo. From Jesse James to Al Capone, America's mean streets have created some tough customers. Learn about America's most notorious criminals.
Al Capone's Chicago by Call Number: 003 977.3 YANISBN: 1590182480Publication Date: 2003Despite its controversial reputation, Chicago of the 1920s was a fascinating place to visit; shows historical sites and notorious gangster hangouts and "must see" murder sites.
Al Capone by Call Number: 003 B CapISBN: 1567112188Publication Date: 1998The life of one of America's most infamous and powerful gansters set in 1920s Chicago during the Prohibition.
Bugsy Siegel by Call Number: 003 B SIEISBN: 1567112242Publication Date: 2000The infamous gangster Bugsy Siegel started his career when he was just a boy in New York. Then he moved to California to exploit the rise of gambling and smuggling on the West Coast. But it wasn't until he helped create Las Vegas casinos in the 1940s that he really made his mark. Learn how he turned his dream into reality.
Carry A. Nation : saloon smasher and prohibitionist by Call Number: 003 B NATISBN: 0766019071Publication Date: 2002The life of Carry A. Nation, whose destruction of saloons and other businesses that sold liquor in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century won her both praise and criticism from fellow temperance advocates. Although she was arrested, beaten, and often criticized, she impressed many people with her sincerity and courage. She carried the temperance crusade from the level of education to that of action, and helped bring on national prohibition.
Communications by Call Number: 004 302.2 WilISBN: 1588102092Publication Date: 2001Traces the development of many popular communication tools from different historical eras.
Communication by Call Number: 004 303.48 SOLISBN: 1433919869Publication Date: 2009Presenting both the positive and the negative impacts of science, this book examines the development of mass communication, from print media to broadcast media; the impact of radio, television, and the Internet; and the technology that links the world by cell phones and computers.
Timelines of Science and Technology, vol. 8: The Atomic Age 1920-1949 by Call Number: 004 509 CLAISBN: 0717261018Publication Date: 2006Presents a series of time lines that note the dates and inventors of key events and discoveries in the history of science and technology from prehistory to the early twenty-first century, and includes articles on some of the most important achievements, with photographs, illustrations, and maps. **Info about the invention of Television.
Everyday Life (Great Inventions series) by Call Number: 004 609 DowISBN: 1588102122Publication Date: 2001Includes information about early televisions and how their invention in the 1920s affected history and everyday life.
History of Film by Call Number: 004 791.43 EBOISBN: 162403554XPublication Date: 2015This title examines film's origins at the turn of the twentieth century, the ways and styles in which it has expanded and changed, and how it has grown into such an integral part of Western culture.
Sir Charlie by Call Number: 004 B CHAISBN: 0061896403Publication Date: 2010Chronicles the life and accomplishments of Charlie Chaplin, describing the silent film star and director's impoverished childhood in London and his rise to fame in Hollywood and within the film industry.
Alfred Hitchcock by Call Number: 004 B HITISBN: 0195119673Publication Date: 2002An illustrated biography of filmmaker Alfred Hitchcock, discussing his youth in England, his early career, his move to Hollywood, his masterpiece films, and his later years, and including writings by Hitchcock, a chronology, and a list of his films.
Sports in America, 1920-1939 by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 005 796.097 BUCISBN: 1604134496Publication Date: 2010The decade following World War I was known as the "Roaring Twenties," and sports were no exception, from Babe Ruth's fateful trade to the New York Yankees to a transcontinental footrace from Los Angeles to New York.Highlights include: Four powerful players on University of Notre Dame's football team are dubbed "the Four Horsemen" by sportswriter Grantland Rice in 1924 The Harlem Globetrotters launch a basketball legacy in 1927 The Transcontinental Race, a foot race from Los Angeles to New York, is run over 84 days in 1928.
Boxing by Call Number: 005 796.83 GraISBN: 1590183533Publication Date: 2004Discusses the origins and evolution of the sport of boxing, as well as memorable events and key personalities in the game's history. (Series: a History of Sports)
The Story of the NFL by Call Number: 005 796.332 GilISBN: 1608180638Publication Date: 2011A look at the origins, leaders, growth, and management of the NFL, the professional football league that was formed in 1920 and today governs 32 teams throughout the United States.- The Chicago Black Sox trial : a primary source account byCall Number: 005 796.357 AndISBN: 0823939693Chronicles the trial in which eight White Sox players and several gamblers were charged with "fixing" the 1919 World Series, and presents numerous primary source excerpts and photos. (READ SOME OF THE BOOK ON-LINE WITH GOOGLE BOOKS PREVIEW.)
Long Ball by Call Number: 005 796.357 STEISBN: 0761327797Publication Date: 2006Long Ball explores every aspect of baseball's greatest hit, detailing the game's longest, shortest, strangest, and most famous four-baggers. from a statistical breakdown of the sport's top sluggers to a chapter on steroids, this book separates fact from fiction.
Lou Gehrig by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 005 B GEHISBN: 0791094235Publication Date: 2007Read this ebook online from BobCatalog/Desitny Discover! Tells the life story of baseball player Lou Gehrig, discussing his childhood in New York, start in baseball, accomplishments with the Yankees, marriage, and battle with ALS.
Lou Gehrig by Call Number: 005 B GehISBN: 082393781XPublication Date: 2004Lou Gehrig lived the American dream. A poor son of immigrants, he was encouraged to do well in school and later developed athletic talents that helped him become one of the greatest baseball players in history. In this biography students will read how Gehrig's monumental output as a Yankee first baseman--with an amazing streak of 2,130 consecutive games played--and his quiet grace made him stand out as an example to people everywhere.
Charles Lindbergh by Call Number: 005 B LINISBN: 1590182456Publication Date: 2003Charles A. Lindbergh's historic 1927 transatlantic flight made him a world-famous icon of aviation. In the years that followed, he continued to advance aviation, also working as an amateur scientist and diplomat, and author, and an environmentalist.
Charles Lindbergh by Call Number: 005 B LINISBN: 0766015351Publication Date: 2002Chronicles the life and historical achievements of Charles Lindbergh, the first aviator to cross the Atlantic Ocean alone, and discusses the kidnapping of his child and his feelings on racial purity and Nazism.
Charles A. Lindbergh : a human hero by Call Number: 005 B LINISBN: 0395633893Publication Date: 1997A biography of the pilot whose life was full of controversy and tragedy, but also fulfilling achievements.
Who Was Babe Ruth? by Call Number: 005 B RUTISBN: 9780448455860Publication Date: 2012Babe Ruth came from a poor Baltimore family and, as a kid, he was a handful. It was at a reform school that Babe discovered his talent for baseball, and by the age of nineteen, he was on his way to becoming a sports legend. Babe was often out of shape and even more often out on the town, but he had a big heart and an even bigger swing! Kids will learn all about the Home Run King in this rags-to- riches sports biography.
Breaking Through by Call Number: 005 796.082 MACISBN: 9781426336775Publication Date: 2020-02-04An account of women in sports in the 1920s, and how their determination, talent, and defiance in the face of criticism promoted women's rights, redefined femininity, and changed the course of history. Macy offers a rare and fascinating glimpse into the journey of women's rights through the lens of women in sports during the pivotal decade of the 1920s.
Complete American presidents sourcebook v. 4 by Call Number: 006 973.09 MATISBN: 0787648418Publication Date: 2001Features articles on every U.S. President, beginning with George Washington in 1789 and ending with George W. Bush in 2001, looking at each man's life before, during, and after his service, noting the highlights of his administration, and including a summary of his legacy, a profile of his first lady, and a selection of related documents.
An Emerging World Power, 1900-1929 by Call Number: 006 973.91 StaISBN: 083685828XPublication Date: 2005Examines significant people and events in the history of the United States from 1900 to 1929, a period that encompassed the Progressive Movement, World War I, and the Roaring Twenties.Each book uses a variety of primary source documents to provide a unique perspective on historical events. (Series: Primary source history of the United States)
The Teapot Dome Scandal by Call Number: 006 973.914 DAVISBN: 0756533368Publication Date: 2008A look at the Teapot Dome scandal, in which government oil reserves were leased without competitive bidding, that rocked the administration of President Warren G. Harding.
Warren G. Harding by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 006 B WarISBN: 9781604534542Publication Date: 2009Covers key events from Republican president Harding's administration, including the Fordney-McCumber Act of 1922, the Washington Conference on Limitation of Naval Armaments, and the Teapot Dome scandal.
Transportation (Great Inventions series) by Call Number: 007 388 DowISBN: 1588102165Publication Date: 2001Chronicles the history of transportation by looking at how successive inventions changed the way people traveled around the world, from the development of constructed bridges in 10,000 B.C.E., to the creation of the jumbo jet in 1969.
Transportation by Call Number: 007 388 HARISBN: 1433919907Publication Date: 2009Presenting both the positive and the negative impact of science, this book examines the history of various forms of transportation, how transportation has changed geography and the environment, and how we can use clean technologies for future transportation.
How the Automobile Changed History by Call Number: 007 629.222 BAIISBN: 9781624037818Publication Date: 2015How the Automobile Changed History examines the automobile's start as a motorized carriage, how it works, and its evolution into the world's principal method of transportation with significant cultural, industrial, and environmental influences. (Click for an excerpt.)
Early Cars by Call Number: 007 629.222 DALISBN: 0195210026Publication Date: 1994The horseless carriage, the development of roads and highway systems, and how our lives changed as we became increasingly dependent on the ready accessibility of cars and good roads.
The Invention of the Moving Assembly Line by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 007 670.42 ABRISBN: 160413772XPublication Date: 2011Explores how the invention of the automated assembly line by Henry Ford, which he created to put together his affordable model T automobile, transformed America and the manufacturing industry. (Series: Milestones in American history) Also available as an eBook through Destiny Discover.
Henry Ford: Building Cars for Everyone by Call Number: 007 B FORISBN: 076601620XPublication Date: 2002A biography of the American inventor and industrialist who is best known for making the automobile practical, through both his revolutionary assembly lines and his desire to make a car every working man could afford.
Driven : a photobiography of Henry Ford by Call Number: 007 B FORISBN: 9781426301551Profiles the successes of industrial visionary Henry Ford, whose assembly line process of manufacturing cars not only brought affordable automobiles to the common man but also revolutionized industry across the globe. (READ SOME OF THE BOOK ON-LINE IN THE GOOGLE BOOK PREVIEW BY CLICKING ON THE COVER.)
Henry Ford by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 007 B FORISBN: 161613514XPublication Date: 2011This title examines the remarkable life of Henry Ford. Readers will learn about Ford's family background, childhood, education, and revolutionary work as an automobile manufacturer.
Henry Ford by Call Number: 007 B FORISBN: 1560068469Publication Date: 2003Henry Ford, by designing an efficient gasoline engine and developing assembly-line mechanics, revolutionized the manufacturing process and made the automobile affordable for every American.
33 Things Every Girl Should Know about Women's History by Call Number: 008 305.4 BOLISBN: 0375911227Publication Date: 2002A collection of essays that profile women, events, and legislation that have had a serious impact on women's rights and freedom in the United States.
The Women's Movement by Call Number: 008 305.42 NARISBN: 9781420505924Publication Date: 2011This book traces the history of the women's movement from the 1848 regional U.S. women's conference, the Seneca Falls Convention to the signing of legislation in 2010 by President Barack Obama making it easier for women to fight wage inequities in the workplace.
Women's Rights: Changing Attitudes 1900-2000 by Call Number: 008 305.42 STEISBN: 0817258922Discusses the origins, history, purpose, achievements, and future of the women's rights movement. The 3rd chapter, called "Women in War and Peace" discusses how women's roles in WWI, the Great Depression, and the rise of feminism influenced changes in attitudes about women's role in society.
With courage and cloth : winning the fight for a woman's right to vote by Call Number: 008 324.6 BAUISBN: 0792276477Chronicles the long history of the fight for women's voting rights, beginning in 1848, with a focus on the years between 1913 and 1920 when the Nineteenth Amendment was passed, and includes profiles of notable women in the struggle.
Women of the Suffrage Movement by Call Number: 008 324.6 BJOISBN: 1590181735Publication Date: 2003In 1920 American women won the right to vote, after seventy years of dedicated activism as political leaders, grassroots organizers, militants, writers, and orators. In celebrated and unsung roles, the millions of women of the suffrage movement were a crucial link between the antislavery movement from which they emerged and the civil rights movement that followed.
The Nineteenth Amendment : Women's Right to Vote by Call Number: 008 324.6 MISBN: 0894909223Publication Date: 1998Traces the history of the women's rights movement in the United States which culminated in 1920 with the passage of the constitutional amendment giving women the right to vote.
The Fight for Women's Right to Vote in American History by Call Number: 008 324.6 NISBN: 089490986XPublication Date: 1998Discusses the people and events connected to the struggle to achieve women's rights, including the right to vote, from its origins in the mid-1800s through the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution.
The Split History of the Women's Suffrage Movement : Suffragists' Perspective by Call Number: 008 324.6 NARISBN: 9780756547912Publication Date: 2014In the mid-19th century, a few women living in upstate New York decided it was time for women to stop accepting their status as second-class citizens. Women lacked many basic civil rights that men enjoyed, including suffrage--the right to vote. These women from New York held a convention in which they demanded their rights. Their battle took more than 70 years to win. Along the way they were opposed and mocked by male and female anti-suffragists who tried to stifle their efforts.
A look at the Nineteenth Amendment : women win the right to vote by Call Number: 008 342.73 BozISBN: 9781598450675Discusses the long campaign to win voting rights for women, which ended with the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution in 1920.
A History of Voting Rights by Call Number: 008 362.6 ORRISBN: 9781612282626Publication Date: 2012This book examines what voting is and the long battle African Americans, Native Americans, and women had to wage to gain the right to vote.
Petticoats and Frock Coats : Revolution and Victorian Age Fashions from the 1770s to the 1860s by Call Number: 008 391 BIXISBN: 9780761358886Publication Date: 2012To better understand why the radical changes in fashion in the 1920s were so radical, read this book for examples of what came before!
Fashions of a Decade : The 1920s by Call Number: 008 391 HerISBN: 0816024650Publication Date: 1991Surveys the fads, fashions, trends, and cultural and intellectual preoccupations of the comfortable, high-living 1920s.
Dressed for the Occasion : What Americans Wore 1620-1970 by Call Number: 008 391 MilISBN: 0822517388Publication Date: 1999Examines the history, manufacture, and care of American clothing from colonial times to the 1970s and discusses its relationship to the social milieu.
The 1920s and 1930s (Costumes in Context series) by Call Number: 008 391 RUBISBN: 0713457732Publication Date: 1989(Series: Costume in context ; 8) Drawings and text introduce the history of costume, tracing the major fashion developments of the period. Includes a glossary and a list of places to visit.
The 20s and 30s : Flappers & Vamps (20th Century Fashion series) by Call Number: 008 391 TWE BLAISBN: 0836825993Publication Date: 2000Presents style and design as they relate to the world events, people, politics, social change, and technology of each era. From beachwear to sport knits, The 20s & 30s charts the rise of the flapper, the birth of screen idols, and the impact of the Great Depression on couture.
1900-1920 : Linen & Lace (20th Century Fashion series) by Call Number: 008 391 TWE MEEISBN: 0836825985Publication Date: 1999Focuses on fashion during the first two decades of the twentieth century while charting the rise of the automobile, the birth of suffragettes, and the impact of World War I on couture.
Fabulous Fashions of The 1920s by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 008 746.9 NIVISBN: 9780766035515Publication Date: 2012Discusses the fashions of the 1920s, including clothing and hairstyles, trends and fads, designers, and world events that influenced the fashion. eBook available through Destiny Discover/BobCatalog.
Wheels of Change by Call Number: 008 796.6082 MACISBN: 1426307616Publication Date: 2011Through vintage photographs, advertisements, cartoons, and songs, a lively look at women's history transports young readers to bygone eras to see how women used the bicycle to improve their lives.
Failure Is Impossible by Call Number: 008 B AntISBN: 1883846773Publication Date: 2004Chronicles the life of Susan B. Anthony, providing information on her childhood in a rural Quaker community, her involvement with the temperance movement, and her crusade to improve women's rights.
Alice Paul and the Fight for Women's Rights by Call Number: 008 B PAUISBN: 9781629793238Publication Date: 2017Here is the story of extraordinary leader Alice Paul, from the woman's suffrage movement--the long struggle for votes for women--to the "second wave," when women demanded full equality with men. Paul made a significant impact on both.
Fashion, costume, and culture : clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear through the ages, vol. 4 by Call Number: 008 REF 391 PenISBN: 0787654175Contains articles that describe the clothing, headwear and footwear fashionable in the 1920s, and includes photographs that are downloadable. READ ONLINE AS AN E-BOOK. (Use Gale password.)
Out of the Darkness: The Story of Blacks Moving North by Call Number: 009 304.8 HASISBN: 9780761409700Publication Date: 2000Uses the experiences of two individuals, Ada "Bricktop" Smith and Joe Jones, to present the story of the Great Migration of Southern Blacks to northern cities from the late 1800s to the years after World War I. (Series: Great journeys)
Racism: Changing Attitudes 1900-2000 by Call Number: 009 305.8 GRAISBN: 0817255672The 3rd chapter, "Racism in the United States" explains the rebirth of the KKK, and the international perspective provided in this book connects world events with racist sentiments very clearly.
The Jim Crow Laws and Racism in American History by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 009 305.896 FREISBN: 0766012972Publication Date: 2000Traces the struggles of African Americans from the end of slavery through the period of Jim Crow segregation in the South, to the civil rights movement and legal equality.
Miles to Go for Freedom : Segregation & Civil Rights in the Jim Crow Years by Call Number: 009 305.896 OSBISBN: 9781419700200Publication Date: 2012Told through unforgettable first-person accounts, photographs, and other primary sources, this book is an overview of racial segregation and early civil rights efforts in the United States from the 1890s to 1954, a period known as the Jim Crow years. Multiple perspectives are examined as the book looks at the impact of legal segregation and discrimination on the day-to-day life of black and white Americans across the country.
Backlash : Race Riots in the Jim Crow Era by Call Number: 009 305.800973 MilISBN: 9781599351834Publication Date: 2012A history of the incidents of racial violence that occurred in the United States during the Jim Crow era.
They Called Themselves the K. K. K. : The Birth of an American Terrorist Group by Call Number: 009 322.4 BARISBN: 9780618440337Publication Date: 2010Boys, let us get up a club.With those words, six restless young men raided the linens at a friend's mansion, pulled pillowcases over their heads, hopped on horses, and cavorted through the streets of Pulaski, Tennessee in 1866. The six friends named their club the Ku Klux Klan, and, all too quickly, their club grew into the self-proclaimed Invisible Empire with secret dens spread across the South.This is the story of how a secret terrorist group took root in America's democracy.
A Dream Deferred : the Jim Crow Era by Call Number: 009 323.1196 ShaISBN: 1590187008Publication Date: 2005For African Americans, the Jim Crow era was a period of broken promises and shattered hopes that saw the federal government turning its back on its black citizens.
The Great Migration (picture book) by Call Number: 009 920 LAWISBN: 0060230371Publication Date: 1993A series of paintings chronicles the journey of African-Americans who, like the artist's family, left the rural South in the early twentieth century to find a better life in the industrial North.
Unspeakable by Call Number: 009 976.6 WEAISBN: 9781541581203Publication Date: 2021A picture bookd that provides a powerful look at the Tulsa Race Massacre, one of the worst incidents of racial violence in our nation's history. The book traces the history of African Americans in Tulsa's Greenwood district and chronicles the devastation that occurred in 1921 when a white mob attacked the Black community.News of what happened was largely suppressed, and no official investigation occurred for seventy-five years.
The Great Black Migrations by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 009 973 SONISBN: 1604136804Publication Date: 2010Presents the story about the energy and passion of a population that helped reshape both the North and South and transform the state of race relations across the United States. (Series: Milestones in American history) Read the entire book online with Destiny Discover.
Dark Sky Rising by Call Number: 009 973.8 GATISBN: 9781338262049Publication Date: 2019Henry Louis Gates, Jr. presents a journey through America's past and our nation's attempts at renewal in this look at the Civil War's conclusion, Reconstruction, and the rise of Jim Crow segregation.This is a story about America during and after Reconstruction, one of history's most pivotal and misunderstood chapters.
The Burning (Young Readers Edition) by Call Number: 009 976.6 BEAISBN: 9781250787699Publication Date: 2021One of the worst acts of racist violence in American history took place in 1921, when a White mob numbering in the thousands decimated the thriving Black community of Greenwood in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The Burning recreates Greenwood at the height of its prosperity, explores the currents of hatred, racism, and mistrust between its Black residents and Tulsa's White population, narrates events leading up to and including Greenwood's devastation, and documents the subsequent silence that surrounded this tragedy.
Black Birds in the Sky by Call Number: 009 976.6 COLISBN: 9780063056664Publication Date: 2021A searing new work of nonfiction from award-winning author Brandy Colbert about the history and legacy of one of the most deadly and destructive acts of racial violence in American history: the Tulsa Race Massacre. Winner, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award. In the early morning of June 1, 1921, a white mob marched across the train tracks in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and into its predominantly Black Greenwood District--a thriving, affluent neighborhood known as America's Black Wall Street. They brought with them firearms, gasoline, and explosives. In a few short hours, they'd razed thirty-five square blocks to the ground, leaving hundreds dead. The Tulsa Race Massacre is one of the most devastating acts of racial violence in US history.
The New Freedom to the New Deal, 1913-1939 (History of Multicultural America series) by Call Number: 009 973.91 KATISBN: 081146279XPublication Date: 1993A multicultural history of the United States, from 1913 to 1939, focusing on the experiences of women and minorities. **Chapter called "Hollywood" discusses the way minorities and immigrants were stereotyped in early films.
The Red Scare by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 010 327.12 KLIISBN: 1420506803Publication Date: 2011Presents a history of communism, discusses the anti-Communist movement in the United States in the mid-twentieth century, and examines the controversies surrounding the era and personal narrative of the time. Read the whole eBook online with Destiny Discover.
A Time of Fear by Call Number: 010 335.43 MARISBN: 9780525644309Publication Date: 2021From National Book Award Finalist and Sibert Honor Author Albert Marrin, a timely examination of Red Scares in the United States, including the Rosenbergs, the Hollywood Ten and the McCarthy era. In twentieth century America, no power--and no threat--loomed larger than the communist superpower of the Soviet Union. America saw in the dreams of the Soviet Union the overthrow of the US government, and the end of democracy and freedom. Meanwhile, the Communist Party of the United States attempted to use deep economic and racial disparities in American culture to win over members and sympathizers. From the miscarriage of justice in the Scotsboro Boys case, to the tragedy of the Rosenbergs to the theatrics of the Hollywood Ten to the menace of the Joseph McCarthy and his war hearings, Albert Marrin examines a unique time in American history...and explores both how some Americans were lured by the ideals of communism without understanding its reality and how fear of communist infiltration at times caused us to undermine our most deeply held values. The questions he raises ask: What is worth fighting for? And what are you willing to sacrifice to keep it? Filled with black and white photographs throughout, this timely book from an award-author brings to life an important and dramatic era in American history with lessons that are deeply relevant today.
The Trial of Sacco and Vanzetti by Call Number: 010 345.73 HinISBN: 0823939731Publication Date: 2004This book tells the controversial story of two anarchist immigrants who were tried for robbery and murder. Using primary source documents and excerpts from court transcripts, the book provides background on Sacco and Vanzetti's association with anarchism; the trial that many believe was prejudiced against the immigrants; the verdict; the desperate, lengthy appeals process; the executions; and the trial's impact on the American dream.GET THIS BOOK FROM THE BOOK CART. (OR: READ SOME OF THE BOOK ON-LINE WITH THE GOOGLE BOOK PREVIEW!)
Revolution by Call Number: 10 909 MayISBN: 083682878XUses a newspaper format to describe many world revolutions, including the Russian Revolution of 1917-1924, which contributed to an American "Red Scare" in 1919-1920.
McCarthyism : the Red Scare by Call Number: 010 973.921 FITISBN: 9780756520076Examines McCarthyism, the anticommunist crusade that swept America in the late 1940s and 1950s. Chapter 2, "The Rise of Communism" the first Red Scare of 1919-1920 is explained. (READ SOME OF THE BOOK ON-LINE WITH GOOGLE BOOK PREVIEW BY CLICKING ON THE COVER IMAGE--"Timeline" is especially helpful.)
J. Edgar Hoover by Call Number: 010 B HOOISBN: 0766016234Publication Date: 2002Discusses the life and controversy of J. Edgar Hoover, former chief of the Federal Bureau of Investigation,
J. Edgar Hoover: Controversial FBI Director by Call Number: 010 B HOOISBN: 9780756509972Presents a biography of J. Edgar Hoover, director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and provides information on his controversial public life, tracking down gangsters and apprehending suspected communists. Chapter 3 is all about "The Red Scare." READ PARTS OF THIS BOOK ONLINE WITH A GOOGLE BOOKS PREVIEW BY CLICKING ON THE LINK
The Scopes trial : faith, science, and American education by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 011 345.73 BURISBN: 9780761449812Publication Date: 2011Provides comprehensive information on the Scopes trial, evolution, fundamentalism, and American education and the differing perspectives accompanying them.
The Monkey Trial by Call Number: 011 345.73 SANISBN: 9780358457695Publication Date: 2023Revealing little-known facts about the fight to teach evolution in schools, this riveting account of the dramatic 1925 Scopes Trial (aka "the Monkey Trial") speaks directly to today's fights over what students learn, the tension between science and religion, the influence of the media on public debate, and the power of one individual to change history. Arrested For teaching John Scopes's crime riveted the world, and crowds flocked to the trial of the man who dared to tell students about a forbidden topic--evolution. The year was 1925, and discussing Darwin's theory of evolution was illegal in Tennessee classrooms. Lawyers wanted to challenge the law, and businessmen smelled opportunity. But no one imagined the firestorm the Scopes Trial would ignite--or the media circus that would follow.
Ernest Hemingway by Call Number: 012 B HEMISBN: 0894909797Publication Date: 1998Describes the life and career of the Pulitzer and Nobel prize winner whose accounts of his adventures and new style of writing brought him worldwide recognition.
Edith Wharton by Call Number: 012 B WhaISBN: 1555466826Publication Date: 1988A biography of the American author known for her psychological examination of the moral and social values of middle-class and upper-class society.
Virginia Woolf by Call Number: 012 B WooISBN: 0791074595Publication Date: 2003Discusses the life and work of the twentieth-century English author, Virginia Woolf.
Born to Fly by Call Number: 013 797.5 SHEISBN: 9781626721302Publication Date: 2019Just nine years after American women finally got the right to vote, a group of trailblazers soared to new heights in the 1929 Air Derby, the first women's air race across the U.S. Follow the incredible lives of legend Amelia Earhart, who has captivated generations; Marvel Crosson, who built a plane before she even learned how to fly; Louise Thaden, who shattered jaw-dropping altitude records; and Elinor Smith, who at age seventeen made headlines when she flew under the Brooklyn Bridge. These awe-inspiring stories culminate in a suspenseful, nail-biting race cross the country that brings to life the glory and grit of the dangerous and thrilling early days of flying.
American Heroes of Exploration and Flight by Call Number: 013 920 SCHISBN: 0894906194Publication Date: 1996A collection of biographies of ten American adventurers including Robert Peary, Amelia Earhart, Neil Armstrong, and Christa McAuliffe.
Bessie Coleman by Call Number: 013 B COLISBN: 0822524694Publication Date: 2005You probably know that Bessie Coleman was the first black woman pilot. But did you know that... She had to pick cotton when she was young? She managed a chili restaurant? She learned to speak French while taking flying lessons in France? Pilots honor her by flying over her grave on Memorial Day? a flying school is named after her? Discover the story behind these facts and more!
Amelia Earhart by Call Number: 013 B EARISBN: 9780756518806Publication Date: 2006Amelia Earhart gained worldwide fame in 1928 when she became the first woman to fly an airplane across the Atlantic Ocean. Her lifelong accomplishments as an aviator influenced pilots in the United States and throughout the world. Her bravery encouraged women to learn to fly and fulfill their dreams. On her attempt to circumnavigate the globe at the equator, Earhart and her plane vanished and were never found. But her memory endures as a symbol of adventure, courage, and perseverance.
Amelia Lost: the Life and Disappearance of Amelia Earhart by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 013 B EARISBN: 0375945989Publication Date: 2011The thrilling story of America's most celebrated flyer, Amelia Earhart. In alternating chapters, Fleming deftly moves readers back and forth between Amelia's life (from childhood up until her last flight) and the exhaustive search for her and her missing plane. With incredible photos, maps, and handwritten notes from Amelia herself--plus informative sidebars tackling everything from the history of flight to what Amelia liked to eat while flying (tomato soup)--this unique nonfiction title is tailor-made for middle graders.- The Century for Young PeopleISBN: 0439168430
Very, Very, Very Dreadful by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 614.5 MARISBN: 9781101931462Publication Date: 2018A fascinating look at the history and science of the deadly 1918 flu pandemic--and its chilling and timely resemblance to the worldwide coronavirus outbreak. In spring of 1918, World War I was underway, and troops at Fort Riley, Kansas, found themselves felled by influenza. By the summer of 1918, the second wave struck as a highly contagious and lethal epidemic and within weeks exploded into a pandemic, an illness that travels rapidly from one continent to another. It would impact the course of the war, and kill many millions more soldiers than warfare itself. Of all diseases, the 1918 flu was by far the worst that has ever afflicted humankind; not even the Black Death of the Middle Ages comes close in terms of the number of lives it took. No war, no natural disaster, no famine has claimed so many. In the space of eighteen months in 1918-1919, about 500 million people--one-third of the global population at the time--came down with influenza. The exact total of lives lost will never be known, but the best estimate is between 50 and 100 million. In this powerful book, filled with black and white photographs, nonfiction master Albert Marrin examines the history, science, and impact of this great scourge--and the possibility for another worldwide pandemic today. A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year!
The Flu Of 1918 by Call Number: 614.5 RUDISBN: 9781936088058Publication Date: 2010On a fall day in 1918, Donald Jacobi came home sick from school in South Buffalo, New York. He had influenza, or the flu. A few days later, doctors told his parents that he'd be dead by morning. After all, the flu that was attacking Donald had already killed millions of people around the world. How had this deadly plague spread so far and so fast? Look inside to find out more about Donald and other victims of influenza. You'll also discover what causes this dangerous illness, how it affects the body, and-most important-how to protect yourself from getting it in the first place. Book jacket.
Fever Year by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: GN 614.5 BROISBN: 9780544837409Publication Date: 2019This nonfiction graphic novel explores the causes, effects, and lessons learned from a major epidemic in our past, and is the perfect tool for engaging readers of all ages, especially teens and tweens learning from home. New Year's Day, 1918. America has declared war on Germany and is gathering troops to fight. But there's something coming that is deadlier than any war. When people begin to fall ill, most Americans don't suspect influenza. The flu is known to be dangerous to the very old, young, or frail. But the Spanish flu is exceptionally violent. Soon, thousands of people succumb. Then tens of thousands . . . hundreds of thousands and more. Graves can't be dug quickly enough. What made the influenza of 1918 so exceptionally deadly--and what can modern science help us understand about this tragic episode in history? With a journalist's discerning eye for facts and an artist's instinct for true emotion, Sibert Honor recipient Don Brown sets out to answer these questions and more in Fever Year.
WeVideo
- WeVideo Premium access -- join code To get full access to our school's subscription, you need to use a code to add your account. Open this Google Spreadsheet and scroll down to WeVideo and get the code.
- WeVideo Tips Tricks for Silent Film on 1920sUse this document to ensure you have created the project in WeVideo correctly and that you know about the multimedia resources already loaded for your use, and how to "finish" the video so it can be shared.
Passwords to Library Databases / eBooks
If something here asks you for a library password, look it up on this Google Spreadsheet!
LOG INTO BobCatalog/Destiny Discover, to read ebooks!! username=LastnameFirstInitial27 (or 28 or 29) password=your personal password. (Or go through ClassLink and click on "Destiny TLI" app).
TO LOG INTO Sora eBooks, use your school Google account. Click here for step-by-step instructions on Sora.
E-books on the 1920s
Read these e-books online! Use either the Gale password, or if the note says it's accessible through the BobCatalog, use your own school username and password to log in to the BobCatalog/Destiny Discover. Your username ends with the number in your year of graduation.
Roaring Twenties Reference Library by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 973.91 HOWISBN: 9781414402109You can read this entire ebook online. It's a Gale eBook. (Use Gale password from Library Passwords spreadsheet to read from home.)
America in The 1920s by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 973.91 ONEISBN: 0816056374Publication Date: 2005View this entire book online with Destiny Discover/ through the BobCatalog.
The Twenties in America by ISBN: 9781587658556Publication Date: 2012(Use the "Twenties in America" password from Library Passwords spreadsheet to read from home.)
UXL American decades, vol. 3 by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 973.91 UXLISBN: 9780787664541- The 1920s by
Suffragettes won women the right to vote in the United States. Babe Ruth was the biggest name in sports. The Lost Generation created music and literature that would speak to everyone. Prohibition created gangsters and mob bosses. And silent films gave way to talking ones. The 1920s was a decade full of idealization, prosperity, and creativity, leading a generation of Americans out of war and into a golden age.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 000 973.91 FEIISBN: 9780766069244Publication Date: 2015 
The 1929 Stock Market Crash by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 973.91 GITISBN: 9781604530506Publication Date: 2008Read this ebook online with Destiny Discover/the BobCatalog!- The Gilded Age and Progressivism, 1891-1913 by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 973.8ISBN: 1438167849Publication Date: 2016 
World War I and the Roaring Twenties, 1914-1928 by
In 1914, the assassination of Austro-Hungarian Archduke Franz Ferdinand became the catalyst for a great war that swept over the world. Anxious Americans watched as the conflict widened and eventually engulfed their nation. President Woodrow Wilson believed a war would "make the world safe for democracy." When World War I ended, Wilson struggled to establish the League of Nations, the blueprint for the future United Nations, but the American public was more interested in the technological advances like the automobile, radio, camera, refrigerator, and commercial aviation that changed the way they lived.
In World War I and the Roaring Twenties, 1914–1928, Updated Edition, learn how the United States experienced exciting and swift economic, technological, and social changes during World War I and the subsequent "Roaring Twenties." This updated and revised volume serves as a time capsule of the era, bringing to life the people and events that have shaped the nation through a clear and entertaining narrative and lively full-color and black-and-white photographs and illustrations.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 940.3 MCNISBN: 1604133562Publication Date: 2016
The Great Depression 1929-1938 by
For many Americans, the era of the "Roaring Twenties" represented good times, a respite from war, and a booming economy. Consumer goods flew from the shelves of America's stores and shops, and the country invested in the stock market as never before. But by the end of the decade, millions witnessed the end of those heady days of jobs, money to spend, and financial security.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 973.917 MCNISBN: 1604133570Publication Date: 2010
Great Depression and New Deal Reference Library by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 973.917 GREISBN: 0787665320Publication Date: 2003(Use Gale password from Library Passwords spreadsheet to read from home.) Information on: Great Depression and economic conditions that led to it; Prohibition & Gangsters / Organized Crime.
Warren G. Harding by
This biography introduces young readers to the life of Warren G. Harding, beginning with his childhood in Blooming Grove, Ohio. Information about Harding's education at Ohio Central College and his early career as a newspaper publisher is discussed. In addition, his family and personal life is highlighted. Easy-to-read text details Harding's political career as an Ohio state senator, lieutenant governor of Ohio, and a U.S. senator. Finally, students will explore key events from Republican president Harding's administration, including the Fordney-McCumber Act of 1922, the Washington Conference on Limitation of Naval Armaments, and the Teapot Dome scandal.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: B HARISBN: 1604534540Publication Date: 2009
Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th-Century America, Vol. 2 by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 306 BOWISBN: 9780787656751(Use Gale password to read from home.)
Information on mass production, fashion, film, print & radio media, sports and games/fads, boomning economic growth, cars & Route 66, Prohibition, Red Scare, Scopes Monkey Trial, Al Capone, Lindbergh, and more.- Fashion, Costume, and Culture by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 391 PenISBN: 0787654175Publication Date: 2003Read this entire ebook online through Gale. (Use Gale password from Library Passwords spreadsheet to read from home.) 
Costume & Fashion Source Books: The 1920s And 1930s by
Photographs of actual performances that show characters in costume and stills from movies that show the filmmakers' interpretations of period clothes. A timeline and summaries of plays, musicals, and movies that typify the era and its fashions. eBook on ORDER, AVAILABLE SOON
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 391 MCEISBN: 1438127308Publication Date: 2009- Fabulous Fashions of The 1920s by
Discusses the fashions of the 1920s, including clothing and hairstyles, trends and fads, designers, and world events that influenced the fashion.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 746.9 NIVISBN: 9780766035515Publication Date: 2012 
The Rise of the Jim Crow Era by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 323.1196 RISISBN: 9781680480443Publication Date: 2015
The Jim Crow Laws and Racism in United States History by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 323.1196 FREISBN: 0766060950Publication Date: 2014Traces the struggles of African Americans from the end of slavery through the period of Jim Crow segregation in the South, to the civil rights movement and legal equality.
The Great Migration and the Harlem Renaissance by Call Number: 305.896 GREISBN: 9781680480474Publication Date: 2015- Harlem Renaissance by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 700 HOWISBN: 0787648361Publication Date: 2000Read this entire ebook online from Gale. (Use Gale password from Library Passwords spreadsheet to read from home.) 
Langston Hughes by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 818ISBN: 1502610655Publication Date: 2016Langston Hughes is a literary giant who was a leader for change. Social activist, poet, novelist, playwright, and pioneer, he was the Renaissance man of the Harlem Renaissance. Learn about his life and influences, and how his work affected the world we live in. Read the whole eBook online with Destiny Discover.
Zora Neale Hurston: Harlem Renaissance Writer by
Explores the life and achievements of Zora Neale Hurston, discussing her childhood, education, family, role in the Harlem Renaissance, literary works, and more. (Series: Essential lives)
Call Number: B HURISBN: 9781604538236Publication Date: 2010- The Scopes trial : faith, science, and American education by
Provides comprehensive information on the Scopes trial, evolution, fundamentalism, and American education and the differing perspectives accompanying them. eBook ON ORDER, AVAILABLE SOON
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 345.73 BURISBN: 9780761449812Publication Date: 2011 
The Scopes Monkey Trial by
After the passage of the Butler Act, which made it unlawful for a state-funded school in Tennessee to teach that humans evolved from lower organisms, 24-year-old high school teacher John Scopes intentionally violated the law. Arrested and charged on May 5, 1925, Scopes became the centerpiece in a trial that pitted two of the finest legal minds of the time against one another. Prosecutor William Jennings Bryan's participation in the trial served as the capstone to his prior unsuccessful advocacy to cut off funds to schools that taught evolution. Prominent trial attorney Clarence Darrow, an agnostic, spoke for the defense. This case, which was the first to be broadcast via radio, was a critical turning point in the creation vs. evolution controversy that continues today.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 345.73 CROISBN: 1604136790Publication Date: 2010
Famous Trials by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 345.73 LOCISBN: 1422234762Publication Date: 2017Read for information about the Sacco and Vanzetti trial- Bootleg by
Worried about the effects of alcohol on American families, mothers and civic leaders started a movement to outlaw drinking in public places. When a Constitutional Amendment banning the sale and consumption of alcohol was ratified, it was hailed as the end of public drunkenness, alcoholism, and a host of other social ills related to booze. Instead, it began a decade of lawlessness.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 363.4 BLUISBN: 9781596434493Publication Date: 2013 
The Prohibition Era by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 363.4 GITISBN: 9781616136857Publication Date: 2010Read this entire e-book online with Destiny Discover/ the BobCatalog!
Al Capone: A Biography by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: B CAPISBN: 9780313323171(Use Gale password from Library Passwords spreadsheet to read from home.)
Al Capone vs. Eliot Ness by
The passage of the Eighteenth Amendment in 1920 ushered in the era of Prohibition. It also induced many crime syndicates to produce and distribute alcohol. It was during this time that the infamous crime boss Al Capone rose to power through violence, cunning, and widespread bribery of government officials. Capone would ultimately meet his match in the untouchable Eliot Ness of the Prohibition Bureau.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 364.1 ROXISBN: 1482422107Publication Date: 2015
12 Great Moments that Changed Radio History by
Uncovers 12 great moments in the history of radio and how it became a powerful way to share information. Learn about key players and events.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 384.54 SMIISBN: 1632350866Publication Date: 2015
The Radio by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 621.384ISBN: 1432948784Publication Date: 2011Readers will learn the history of the invention of the radio in this title that includes information on the key players, the setbacks long the way, and the moments of discovery. Read the entire ebook online with Destiny Discover.
Inventors of Communications Technology by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 920 MORISBN: 1502606577Publication Date: 2015- Sports in America, 1920-1939 by
The decade following World War I was known as the "Roaring Twenties," and sports were no exception, from Babe Ruth's fateful trade to the New York Yankees to a transcontinental footrace from Los Angeles to New York.Highlights include: Four powerful players on University of Notre Dame's football team are dubbed "the Four Horsemen" by sportswriter Grantland Rice in 1924 The Harlem Globetrotters launch a basketball legacy in 1927 The Transcontinental Race, a foot race from Los Angeles to New York, is run over 84 days in 1928.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 796.097 BUCISBN: 1604134496Publication Date: 2010 - Lou Gehrig by
Read this ebook online from BobCatalog/Desitny Discover! Tells the life story of baseball player Lou Gehrig, discussing his childhood in New York, start in baseball, accomplishments with the Yankees, marriage, and battle with ALS.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 005 B GEHISBN: 0791094235Publication Date: 2007 
Babe Ruth by Call Number: B RUTISBN: 9780791095706Publication Date: 2008-01-01Read this entire book online through the BobCatalog!
Charles Lindbergh by Call Number: B LINISBN: 9781616135164Publication Date: 2010-09-01Read the entire book online through the BobCatalog!
Spirit of St. Louis by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 629.13 KOEISBN: 9781591979401Publication Date: 2005Read this entire book online with Destiny Discover/ the BobCatalog!
F. Scott Fitzgerald and the Jazz Age by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 813ISBN: 1627128174Publication Date: 2014Learn about the exciting life and times of F. Scott Fitzgerald, the era of the Jazz Age, and its influence on Fitzgerald's greatest works. Read the whole eBook online with Destiny Discover.
Ernest Hemingway and World War I by
A fascinating insight into the life of author Ernest Hemingway, exploring his involvement in World War I and the Spanish Civil War, and detailing how these events and love influenced his most famous books and works of literature. Read the whole eBook online with Destiny Discover.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 813ISBN: 1627128115Publication Date: 2014- The Invention of the Moving Assembly Line by
Explores how the invention of the automated assembly line by Henry Ford, which he created to put together his affordable model T automobile, transformed America and the manufacturing industry. (Series: Milestones in American history)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 670.42 ABRISBN: 160413772XPublication Date: 2011 
Henry Ford - Manufacturing Mogul by
A biography of American industrialist Henry Ford, discussing his early interest in mechanics, his efforts to develop a gas powered engine, the Model T, his production innovations, unionization, and other topics. Read this entire eBook with Destiny Discover/BobCatalog!
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: B FORISBN: 9781617588129Publication Date: 2010
Inventors of Transportation Technology by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 920 MORISBN: 1502606631Publication Date: 2015
Inventors of Food and Agriculture Technology by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 920 MORISBN: 9781502606655Publication Date: 2015
Inventors of Everyday Technology by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 920 MORISBN: 9781502606617Publication Date: 2015
Inventors of Industrial Technology by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 920 MORISBN: 1502606674Publication Date: 2015
Jazz Age: People and Perspectives. by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 973.91 MITISBN: 9781598840339Publication Date: 2009(Use Gale password from Library Passwords spreadsheet to read from home.)
The Dust Bowl by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 978.032 VANISBN: 1604538686Publication Date: 2010Read this entire e-book online through the BobCatalog!
Women of Achievement by
In a time when women were treated as inferior to men, Amelia Earhart dared to fly higher. From her humble beginnings in a small Kansas town to her groundbreaking solo flight across the Atlantic, Earhart defied expectations and rose to become the most famous female pilot of all time. Despite the restrictions placed on women of her era, she broke through barriers and refused to allow society to label her. As a result, she made history through her daring flights all over the world. In 1937, she disappeared without a trace while on a solo flight around the world, but the legacy she left behind continues to inspire. Read about this remarkable aviation pioneer in Amelia Earhart.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: B EARISBN: 9781438138213Publication Date: 2011
The Life of Bessie Coleman by
From an early age, Bessie Coleman dreamed of flying, but racial bigotry and gender bias threatened to keep her grounded. Denied entrance to flight training school in the United States, Coleman went to Europe. She returned, triumphant, with a pilot's license and hopes of opening a flight school for African Americans. Author Connie Plantz captures all the tension and excitement of Coleman's soaring achievements. Raising funds as a stunt pilot, Brave Bessie thrilled her audiences with aerial tricks. Coleman's life ended in a tragic accident, but not before her dream of flight made aviation history.
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780766061170Publication Date: 2014
Duke Ellington (audiobook version of picture book) by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780786814206Publication Date: 2007A picture book biography of a prominent twentieth-century African-American in the Harlem Renaissance, read aloud along with examples of his music.
The Life of Duke Ellington : Giant of Jazz by
Duke Ellington's brilliance as a jazz composer; bandleader; and pianist has never been equaled. The winner of eleven Grammy Awards, Duke Ellington, achieved success in New York's Cotton Club, wrote musical scores for stage plays, movies, and even composed his own short opera. This book offers a fascinating look at the life and career of a music legend.
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780766061293Publication Date: 2014
Master of Deceit : J. Edgar Hoover and America in the Age of Lies by
In this unsparing exploration of one of the most powerful Americans of the twentieth century, J. Edgar Hoover, accomplished historian Marc Aronson unmasks the man behind the Bureau- his tangled family history and personal relationships; his own need for secrecy, deceit, and control; and the broad trends in American society that shaped his world. Hoover may have given America the security it wanted, but the secrets he knew gave him -- and the FBI-- all the power he wanted. Using photographs, cartoons, movie posters, and FBI transcripts,
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780763656195Publication Date: 2012
Jacob Lawrence by
Discusses the life of Jacob Lawrence, who created a series of paintings about The Great Migration, and describes his unique style of art.
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781617848476Publication Date: 2005
Flu Pandemic Of 1918 by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781617839566Publication Date: 2013Across the globe, devastating disasters have changed the course of history. This title brings the flu pandemic of 1918 to life with well-researched, clearly written informational text, primary sources with accompanying questions, charts, graphs, diagrams, timelines, and maps, multiple prompts, and more. Explore the tragedies and triumphs of this disaster, how it helped shape the world as we know it, and how what we've learned from it has made the world a safer place. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Core Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
