HCC Science Olympiad : Anatomy & Physiology

The rules of each of the events can be hard to understand. If you have a question, want some study tips, ask this school-approved chatbot. Please use your real name when you begin the conversation.

View the rules for Anatomy & Physiology only in this PDF, which includes all the specific muscles that will be included in the test. Use your school Google account to access.

Any changes to the rules that are necessary but published after the official rules were released are published here. Check your event to see if any rules changes have been made before the competitions. You can also use the "Rules Clarification" form here to ask a clarifying question and a real judge will respond.

Descriptions, practice tests, and more from the official Science Olympiad national site.

Contains some helpful tips to help understand the Anatomy and Physiology tournament, but be careful to select materials that are based on this year's subtopics.

Contains some helpful tips to help understand how to study for the Skeletal System of the Anatomy & Physiology event.

Skeletal System -Training Handout
Karen L. Lancour
National Rules Committee Chairman – Life Science

LUMEN's Master Muscle List, with diagrams, Insertion, Origin, Action and Nerve.

Contains some helpful tips to help understand how to study for the Muscular System of the Anatomy & Physiology event.

Muscular System -Training Handout
Karen L. Lancour
National Rules Committee Chairman – Life Science

Contains some helpful tips to help understand how to study for the Integumentary System of the Anatomy & Physiology event.

The Integumentary System - Training Handout
Karen L. Lancour
National Rules Committee Chairman – Life Science

This text introduces the functions of the skeletal system. Find the answers to the question prompts below Skeletal System: "Learn By Doing" and "Did I Get This?" Feedback.

This text describes the features and functions of the axial and appendicular skeletons. Find the answers to the question prompts below Skeletal System: "Learn By Doing" and "Did I Get This?" Feedback.

This text discusses the criteria used to name skeletal muscles; and how understanding the muscle names helps describe shapes, location, and actions of various muscles.

The human skeleton has 5 types of bones. Long, short, flat, irregular and sesamoid bones.

This text describes how human bones are classified according to their shape and microscopic structure. Find the answers to the question prompts below Skeletal System: "Learn By Doing" and "Did I Get This?" Feedback.

A collection of 10 texts, or "pathways," which provide an in-depth look at interactions of skeletal muscles; their fascicle arrangement, & their lever systems; naming skeletal muscles; axial muscles of the head, neck, & back; axial muscles of the abdominal wall & thorax; muscles of the pectoral girdle & upper limbs; and appendicular muscles of the pelvic girdle & lower limbs. The pathway also provides vocabulary support for these topics, as well as opportunities for learners to self-assess their understanding by analyzing figures and answering questions.

This text highlights key terms important for the study of interactions of skeletal muscles; their fascicle arrangement, & their lever systems; naming skeletal muscles; axial muscles of the head, neck, & back; axial muscles of the abdominal wall & thorax; muscles of the pectoral girdle & upper limbs; and appendicular muscles of the pelvic girdle & lower limbs.

Contains 20 texts, or "pathways," that describe the systems that provide support to the human body, namely the skeletal and muscular systems.
Learning Objectives:
1. Identify the major structures and functions of the skeletal system.
2. Identify the major structures and functions of the muscular system.
3. Explain how the skeletal and muscular systems provide support to the body.

Ten pathways to embark on a journey through your skin! Discover its layers, functions, and how it works tirelessly to protect you, all while exploring exciting careers in skincare science.

This text provides a review about layers of the skin, accessory structures of the skin, functions of the integumentary system, and diseases, disorders, & injuries of the integumentary system.

These multiple choice questions check for understanding of layers of the skin, accessory structures of the skin, functions of the integumentary system, and diseases, disorders, & injuries of the integumentary system. (Use with the chapter review posted above this link!)