Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fourth Grade American Indian Resources
Scholastic Encyclopedia of the North American Indian by
Publication Date: 1996-08-01
We Are the Many by
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
The Iroquois by
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
A Visual Dictionary of Native Communities by
Publication Date: 2010-04-30
This illustrated dictionary introduces the way of life of the early Native peoples who lived across North America. Different nations are featured in spreads that show their way of life in their particular region. Themes include* homes* food* clothing* transportation* hunting techniques
New York Native Peoples by
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Describes the history, environment, beliefs of the Native Peoples of New York state, and the organization of the Iroquois Confederacy, and profiles some famous individuals, such as Mary Brant, Handsome Lake, and Jay Silverheels.
What is a Wigwam?
This Wonderopolis "wonder" addresses questions like "What is a Wigwam?" and "What is the difference between a Wigwam and a Teepee?"
Good Brain pop video about American Indians
This Brain Pop video provides a lot of great information about the American Indians.
War in the Woodlands Article
This article contains great information on each group of Indians within the Iroquois Confederacy.
American Indian Facts
This website provides great facts about Indian culture.
This website contains information on every part of the Woodland Indian culture including religious beliefs and ceremonies.
This page includes a wealth of information on all parts of the American Indian culture.
State of the Hudson
Take a look back at life in the Wappinger Indian tribe during the Woodland period.
The Lenape Culture: Home Building
World Book Encyclopedia
World Book has been the first stop for information for many American families for decades. It is written in plain English that is intended for a wide audience: both children and adults. Its extensive use of charts, timelines, and other graphics make the information even more accessible.
A large periodicals database containing thousands of magazine and newspaper articles covering all subject areas.
Kids Info Bits
A large collection of resources with a searchable database.
True Flix has an American Indian collection which includes a great book on the Iroquois.
A Growing Nation
This is a great overview! This slideshow contains many primary sources from the Smithsonian Archives.
Plimoth Plantation: Virtual Field Trip