Skip to Main Content

Person of the Year : Connect & Wonder

8th grade Person of the Year project: Choose a person that you think has had a significant impact on history, literature, or both from any time period.

Connect

Connect: What are some topics I am interested in? What do I already know about that? How can I narrow down my topics into a more narrow, manageable topic?

Task: Brainstorm a list of 3-5 people I am interested in researching.

Wonder

Wonder: What questions do I have about my topic? (Types of questions: overview, big-idea, specific detail, cause and effect, comparison.)  What do I expect to learn or find? How can I refine my questions to search for different types of information?

Passwords to Library Databases / eBooks

If something here asks you for a library password, look it up on this Google Spreadsheet! 

Biography in Context Database by Gale

Biography in Context Database by Gale is easy to browse and has both up-to-date news & magazine sources as well as video and audio clips. Check it out! (Use the Gale password from the HCC Library Passwords spreadsheet.)

 

Biographies in FactCite Databases

FactCite is a great starting point for basic biographical articles. Clearly written, not overly challenging, fact-checked information, with citation at bottom of page. Check it out!

Here are lists of Important People you may want to study: 

(Use the Passwords sheet to get username and password!)

undefined

Who2.com

Who2.com has short bios on all different people. Try the categories along the top. 
 

Academy of Achievement

The Academy of Achievement profiles "the extraordinary leaders, visionaries, and the pioneers who have helped shape our world."
Use the "Find My Role Model" page to fill in the blanks and be matched up with biographical articles about people based on your interests.
 

Nobel Prize Winners, past and present

Read about the winners of the Nobel Prize and their achievements
 

Time 100 Most Influential People, 2021

Here are the articles from the 2021 "Time 100 Most Influential People" from its website.

Time Person of the Year articles

Here are Time Magazine articles about this year's and previous "Person of the Year" winners, from the EBSCO Database: 

Look to the Stars: Celebrity charity work Web site

New York Times Obituaries Section

Obituaries are articles in newspapers published when people die, but they are in written in a way that tells the story of their life's accomplishments. Click here to read the New York Times' Obituaries section.

 

Browse Britannica Encyclopedia Biography articles

Browse for people based on the time period, type of work, nationality, etc. using Britannica Online Encyclopedia
 
 

Meet-the-Author Interviews from TEACHING BOOKS.net

Listen to authors share their excitement with you in these AUTHOR INTERVIEWS on TEACHINGBOOKS.NET
(Narrow the results by Genre or Grade level on left side of page)
 
 

Finding Dulcinea: History Web Guides

World Book Online TIMELINES

Browse events and people who've had an impact using TIMELINES by World Book. 

Worldbook Timelines

"Literature and Its Times" eBooks

HCC eBook Biographies with Destiny Discover

HCC's Destiny Discover contains hundreds of biographical eBooks you can borrow for free.
  • Search the word "Biography" either alone or with another topic and then click enter button. 
LOG IN WITH YOUR USERNAME THAT ENDS WITH 26, 27, or 28, and YOUR OWN PERSONAL PASSWORD.
AFTER YOU CHECK OUT YOUR BOOK YOU MAY READ IT ON AN APP CALLED DESTINY DISCOVER
 (Apple) (Android).
Destiny Discover
 

 

Sora eBooks

Sora is an eBook and digital audiobook app that is relatively new. Here is a link to some biographies/memoirs, but you can use the magnifying glass to search for books on a specific person. 

Sora

     Log in with your School Google account. Step-by-Step directions are in document below.

     Add the PUBLIC LIBRARY'S Collection to Sora to have access to their books too! 

      More helpful information and videos are on the HCC Library Sora page. 

    You may also email me to request specific ebooks! 

How & Why to Get a Public Library Card

 Get Yourself a Public Library Card

Reasons to get a public library card!

 → Free access to eBooks & digital audiobooks that download to your devices.

 → Free, legal digital downloads of popular music (you can keep forever)!

 → Borrow books and videos from any Westchester Library, deliver to your home library

North Castle Public Library Card

The card is free and will be mailed to your home within a week.

You may apply online for a North Castle Public library card if you live in North Castle.

If 12 or older, apply at: https://www.northcastlelibrary.org/get-a-library-card/adult-library-card
If under 12, apply with a parent at: https://www.northcastlelibrary.org/get-a-library-card/juvenile-library-card

If you live in the town of Mt. Pleasant, Pleasantville, or another town outside of Armonk, you will have to get your library card from that library. 

Mt. Pleasant or Bedford Public Library Card

To get a Mt. Pleasant & Bedford Library card, fill in the application attached and go to the library with a parent or guardian (who will need a photo ID and proof of address is needed. A driver's license with current address is fine.)

Mt Pleasant application: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B56plgj5evdmOUtzc2ZpLVVpRGFtMG5zUXpNdVBtWlR4YXlz/view?usp=sharing

Bedford application: https://catalog.westchesterlibraries.org/eg/opac/register